YourSpace at Tucker Free Library

Okay! Please tell me someone has read The Hunger Games!???? I just started listening to the book in my car this weekend and I’ve fallen in love. I need to discuss. I need to know what happens. I need Katniss to realize that Peeta is totally into her (because she is kind of dense) and not just planning some elaborate strategical master plan against her every time he does something remotely nice. 

I had resisted reading The Hunger Games for a while because despite what a number of my friends said (and their unlimited borderline obsessive ravings about the book) I’m not a big fan of sci-fi and I just couldn’t imagine liking a book that basically sounded like it was about a bunch of kids murdering each other. (Sidenote: I never liked Lord of the Flies for this reason, among others.) However, I was SO WRONG. Although this book is sci-fi AND it the hunger games are in fact a survival competition where you either kill or be killed I can’t recommend The Hunger Games enough.

There are plans to turn The Hunger Games into a movie. Lionsgate acquired the rights to the book and Suzanne Collins will adapt the screenplay from her novel. I’m excited! Plus, I’m comforted by the fact that the author of the book is writing the screenplay for the movie; which means there’s a much greater chance the movie will stay true to the book.

Leave a Reply

