YourSpace at Tucker Free Library

Curious about what’s popular at the Tucker Free? Here’s a list of the 15 most popular YA titles….

They are arranged in decending order, from the number 1 to number 15.

I’ve bolded the ones I’ve read.   What about you guys? Anyone read any of these titles?

1.) Twilight, Stephenie Meyer

2.) Eclipse, Stephenie Meyer

3.) Breaking Dawn, Stephenie Meyer

4.) New Moon, Stephenie Meyer

5.) The Book Thief, Markus Zusak

6.) Ttyl, Lauren Myracle

7.) L8r, g8r, Lauren Myracle

8.) Tenth Grade Bleeds, Heather Brewer

9.) Goddess of the Night, Lynne Ewing

10.) The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, John Boyne

11.) The Titan’s Curse, Rick Riordan

12.) Thirsty, M. T. Anderson

13.) Thirteen, Lauren Myracle

14.) What My Girlfriend Doesn’t Know, Sonya Sones

15.) Death’s Shadow, Darren Shan

Comments on: "Most Popular YA Titles at the Tucker Free" (4)

  1. I just listened to The Boy in The Striped Pajamas a couple of months ago and I thought it was great — as far as depressing books go. After I was done reading I was excited to watch the movie they recently made of it, which was good, but definitely not up to par with the book. What drew me in about the Boy in the Striped Pajamas was its unique narrator — an 8 year old German boy, whose innocence is the lens through which the reader experiences Bruno’s dealings with WWII Germany, and his father being in charge of Auschwitz. Although, the interesting part is that Bruno, being so young, doesn’t fully understand what is going on around him and his interpretation of things is at times humorous and others quite sad. I really enjoyed the book, you don’t really find many books about the Holocaust from a young German perspective.
    Overall the book was really well written and I loved the audio book (I loved the reader’s voice) and I definitely recommend it. Even though the book may seem to be for younger kids, the Holocaust setting definitely sets a tone of gloom throughout the novel, and when you’re done you really feel like you have to put the book down and think about what you just read.

  2. tuckerfreelibrary said:

    I haven’t read The Boy in the Striped Pajamas yet, but it’s been on my “to read” list for awhile. Have you ever read The Book Thief by Markus Zusak? It’s also set during the Holocaust and told from a unique perspective (it’s actually narrated by death, and although that initially sounds morbid and depressing, it’s not. In fact, death has a very dry sense of humor.) If you haven’t read it yet I’d recommend checking it out. We have it here at the Tucker Free Library. We also have the book here on CD if you want to listen to it instead (and it’s available for download on the New Hampshire Audiobook library.)

  3. Yeah! I read it a couple years ago and I really liked it. Also depressing though haha. I really loved how the author made death a character it was a really neat idea.

    So what did you think of the Twilight books? I read them last summer and initially was really into them, but afterwards I kind of realized they weren’t really well written and the character Bella was pretty pathetic and Edward was a creeper. Mixed feelings about the message their relationship gives off.

  4. tuckerfreelibrary said:

    Ah, the Twilight books! I read Twilight when it first came out several years ago before any of the real frenzy started. I found it oddly addicting and for me it was one of those books I just HAD to keep reading. Compulsively. Like I physically could not stop myself. When New Moon came out I was really really excited. And then…I read it. In New Moon I found Bella really clingy, needy, whiny, and BORING. Reading New Moon was a struggle for me and after that my love for the Twilight series went downhill. Plus, am I the only one who feels like Bella really just uses Jacob? And doesn’t appreciate him? I didn’t even want Bella to be with Jacob and it frustrated me.

    You have a really good point about the message the Bella/Edward relationship gives off. I’m not one of those people who considers it some kind of abusive or “bad” relationship. I just feel like Bella defines so much of who she is around being with Edward and realistically that can’t be a good thing (however, it’s a BOOK). Regardless, I really feel like the Twilight books are basically literary candy and maybe they aren’t supposed to be that “nutritious”.

    Are there any series you’re really into? I’m a big fan of gothic supernatural romances, which is probably why I got so caught up in Twilight, and there’s no denying that Edward is beautiful. Bella only mentions it about 1,209 times. Just in the first book. Any books you’d like to see added to the Tucker Free collection? Or recommendations of books you really liked?

Leave a Reply

