YourSpace at Tucker Free Library

newmoonThere are a ton of  “Book to Movie” adaptions hitting the multiplexes soon. Here’s a brief breakdown:

Drew Barrymore’s directorial debut, Whip It, is (unbeknownst to me until quite recently) based on the book of the same name by Shauna Cross. I was already interested in seeing the movie, but now I might read the book first and then go see the movie about a high school girl finding her place, fitting in, and joining a girl’s roller derby team.  Plus, ever since Juno I have had a soft spot in my heart for Ellen Page–nobody does cute snarky sarcastic quite like her.  Trailer is here.

Where The Wild Things are opened yesterday.  I am really curious to see  how the beloved children’s classic will translate to the  screen, however I have been pleasantly surprised by the trailers.

A new adaptation of Dorian Gray is hitting theatres with Colin Firth and Ben Barnes (you’ll remember him as Prince Caspian from the most recent Narnia film.)  Check out the trailer 

Not that you could have forgotten with all the ongoing buzz, but New Moon, the second book in Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight series is coming out in November (mark your calendars, November 20th).  I liked the trailer however I’m a bit apprehensive as I didn’t like the book New Moon as much as I enjoyed Twilight–I found Bella to be unbearably whiny at times, and I missed Edward.

What did you guys think about the movie version of Twilight? What about the casting? Did anyone seem off or not how you imagined the character would look when you read the book? In other Stephanie Meyer’s news the film rights to her adult novel, The Host have also been snatched up so there is something else to look forward to.

Alice Seybold’s The Lovely Bones is hitting the screen around Christmas time. I loved the book, however I’m not sure I’ll be up for seeing a film version. I had a hard enough time watching the preview.  It is directed by Peter Jackson (who did The Lord of the Rings) and starring Mark Wahlberg, Susan Sarandon and Rachel Weisz, so it certainly has some hollywood heavy hitters attached.

Leave a Reply

